Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cinema camera vs. DSLR - Matti Haapoja

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Cinema camera vs. DSLR - Matti Haapoja

    For those looking to venture into cinematography, here is a good video by Matti Haapoja discussing the advantages and disadvantages of using a dedicated cinema camera over a DSLR.


  • #2
    Seems like an easy choice. Just check your bank account and you will know which. He does bring up some good technical points, though (DR, codec, color grading, etc.). They'll both get the job done okay, but if you can afford a cinema camera, it's usually the better choice.

    Comment


    • #3
      Money aside, I like the more raw look of the DSLR. They are starting to look more and more refined, though. By the time iPhone 20 comes out, you probably won't even need a real camera anymore LOL.
      You have 20 seconds to comply.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by ED-209 View Post
        Money aside, I like the more raw look of the DSLR. They are starting to look more and more refined, though. By the time iPhone 20 comes out, you probably won't even need a real camera anymore LOL.
        The iPhone 20 will probably have about a dozen lenses, too. The smart phone MFR's just keep adding more.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Eleventeen View Post

          The iPhone 20 will probably have about a dozen lenses, too. The smart phone MFR's just keep adding more.
          With cameras being such a prominent feature in modern phones I’m surprised nikon or canon have not released a smart phone yet. Especially since the smart phone has killed the point and shoot market. The camera on their phone would dominate everyone elses.

          Comment


          • #6
            A dedicated cinema camera is beyond what most people probably need, but definitely something I would have if money wasn’t an issue. Some of the content being produced on DSLR’s is amazing, though.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by techscabby View Post
              A dedicated cinema camera is beyond what most people probably need, but definitely something I would have if money wasn’t an issue. Some of the content being produced on DSLR’s is amazing, though.
              Definitely not anything you NEED unless you are a serious professional, but an 8k RED would be tits. Even if I had the money, it would be way more than I could ever properly use, though.

              Comment


              • #8
                For automotive work, I like a good DSLR. It’s nice to be able to jump from photo to video and back to photo with one button.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by shutter_stud View Post
                  For automotive work, I like a good DSLR. It’s nice to be able to jump from photo to video and back to photo with one button.
                  I fully agree with this, but I would still love to have a good cinema camera.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by 2HD4U View Post

                    With cameras being such a prominent feature in modern phones I’m surprised nikon or canon have not released a smart phone yet. Especially since the smart phone has killed the point and shoot market. The camera on their phone would dominate everyone elses.
                    This is what Red did. Ironically, the camera doesn’t sound like it’s all that great. Red didn’t even build the image sensors for the phone.

                     
                    You have 20 seconds to comply.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by ED-209 View Post

                      This is what Red did. Ironically, the camera doesn’t sound like it’s all that great. Red didn’t even build the image sensors for the phone.
                      Haha, the camera should be the most important feature of a smart phone made by a CAMERA manufacturer! Why else would you buy their phone over the others?

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        They are supposed to be releasing an add-on camera module that will likely take better photos / video. Not sure when, though.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by Alex DeLarge View Post
                          They are supposed to be releasing an add-on camera module that will likely take better photos / video. Not sure when, though.
                          Supposed to be sometime next year. Even still, at the current price just for the phone (plus the price of add-ons), it will be a very niche market.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            I would probably market that phone to RED camera owners by integrating it directly with their cameras. Set it up so the phone could live view right from the camera, and integrate all of the camera controls into the phone for full control. Maybe they’re already doing something like that, though. Probably not enough RED camera owners out there to make that strategy profitable, though.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              LOL at that contraption he is using to hold the camera. First time I've seen that but it seems like a good idea though!

                              Comment

                              Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
                              Auto-Saved
                              Wave :wave: Bump :bump: Crazy :crazy: Afro :afro: Oh Yeah :ohyeah: Hater :hater: Welcome Wave :welcomewave: Canada :canada: Smoking Pimp :smokingpimp: Australia :australia: Club :club: Huge :huge: Xmas :xmas: Chicken Catch :chickencatch: Soapbox :soapbox: Balloons :balloons: Popcorn :popcorn: Jason :jason: Coke Sniff :cokesniff: Strong :strong: Beavis and Butt-Head :bandb: Rock Out :rockout: Listening :listening: Dope :dope: Swords :swords: Axe Chase :axechase: Santa :santa: Wink ;) Minigun :minigun: Facepalm :facepalm: Thumbs Up :thumbsup: Blue :blue: Shifty :shifty: Mad :mad: Newbie :newbie: Golf Clap :golfclap: Typing :typing: Bow and Arrow :bowandarrow: Sigh :sigh: Toothy Grin :() No No :nono: Gun Toting :guntoting: Bravo :bravo: Sleep :sleep: Beer Bong :beerbong: Oh the Drama :ohthedrama: Happy New Year :happynewyear: W2LW :welcometolastweek: Call Me :callme: Smoking Joint :smokingjoint: Argument :argument: Pac-Man :pac-man: Help Sign :helpsign: WTF :wtf: Censored :censored: Sniper2 :sniper2: Ball and Chain :ballandchain: Police :police: I'm With Stupid :imwithstupid: Take Cover :takecover: Cock Blocked :cockblocked: Sport Bike :sportbike: Beamup :beamup: Robot :robot: Liar :liar: Bomb 3 :bomb3: Surprised :surprised: Double Bird :doublebird: Salute :salute: Big Grin :D Merry Xmas :merryxmas: Explosion :explosion: Thread Jacked :threadjacked: Not Worthy :notworthy: Shhh :shhh: Neener :neener: Give Me Beer :givemebeer: Two Cents :twocents: Boring :boring: Shrug :shrug: Frown :( No Comment :nocomment: Shredding Guitar :shreddingguitar: Violin :violin: +1 :+1: NX :nx: Hammer :hammer: Wedgie :wedgie: Butt Moon :buttmoon: Flower :flower: Ambulance :ambulance: Owned :owned: Help :help: Wrong Forum :wrongforum: Car :car: Sniper :sniper: Backfire :backfire: Poke :poke: I'm Sorry :imsorry: Zzz :zzz: Clap :clap: Sparta :sparta: Bang Head :banghead: Razz :razz: Lay Rubber :layrubber: Cussing Argument :cussingargument: Superman :superman: Biker :biker: ROFL2 :rofl2: Embarrassment :o Mario :mario: Drool :drool: Think :think: Blah :blah: Seeing Stars :seeingstars: Naughty :naughty: Freedom :freedom: True Story :truestory: Bomb :bomb: Shower :shower: Confused :confused: NOS :nos: Google :google: Uzi :uzi: Boxing :boxing: Slap :slap: Word :word: Waving :waving: Buried :buried: Cheers :cheers: A La Broche :alabroche: Old School :oldschool: Heart Eyes :hearteyes: Whip :whip: Candle :candle: Smoking Weed :smokingweed: Baby :baby: Double Pistol :doublepistol: I'm New Here :imnewhere: Yeah That :yeahthat: Chop Wood :chopwood: Spam Guy :spamguy: Ban :ban: Rain :rain: Juggle :juggle: Cool Photos :coolphotos: Studying :studying: Beef :beef: ROFL :rofl: Smile :) LOL :lol: Error :error: Thank You :thankyou: Birthday :birthday: Dispute :dispute: Stick Out Tongue :p Mow Lawn :mowlawn: Fart :fart: Toilet Claw :toiletclaw: Blue Ninja :blueninja: Shock :shock: New Year :newyear: Good Post :goodpost: USA :usa: Boxing 2 :boxing2: Sign Here :signhere: BS :bs: Nut Kick :nutkick: Roll Eyes (Sarcastic) :rolleyes: Cool :cool: EEK! :eek:
                              x
                              Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  
                              x
                              Working...
                              X