Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cinema camera vs. DSLR - Matti Haapoja

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #16
    Originally posted by KyleK View Post
    LOL at that contraption he is using to hold the camera. First time I've seen that but it seems like a good idea though!
    That’s nothing, you should see what a real professional level steadicam setup looks like. They work amazingly well though.

    Comment


    • #17
      We're at a point where those who cannot afford (or refuse) to invest in a professional level cinema camera can still get amazing results with a DSLR at a fraction of the price.

      Comment


      • #18
        Full frame mirrorless are going to provide even more bang for the buck.

        Comment


        • #19
          Originally posted by Grimm View Post
          Full frame mirrorless are going to provide even more bang for the buck.
          Yeah, and as the video quality and resolution continue to improve on the mirrorless cameras, I think we will start to see a trend where people give up their cinema level cameras for the portability of the mirrorless cameras. However, they will need to improve the audio recording capabilities and add professional mic inputs. This is someting you would likely see on the top end cameras like the D5 or 1DX replacements.
          Last edited by BensonCarlisle; 07-05-2019, 12:34 AM.

          Comment


          • #20
            Regarding automotive work, i think the DSLR or mirrorless cam would be the way to go. It would be a lot tougher to shoot rollers out the window of another car or try to mount a rig with a bigger heavier camera.

            Comment


            • #21
              Originally posted by cameo View Post
              Regarding automotive work, i think the DSLR or mirrorless cam would be the way to go. It would be a lot tougher to shoot rollers out the window of another car or try to mount a rig with a bigger heavier camera.
              Guys doing this professionally are usually strapped into the back of an SUV with a couple of assistants, so hanging out the window while your boy is driving isn't an issue.

              Comment


              • #22
                Originally posted by urban_ninja View Post

                Guys doing this professionally are usually strapped into the back of an SUV with a couple of assistants, so hanging out the window while your boy is driving isn't an issue.
                That's probably only about 1 or 2% of the people out there though...

                Comment


                • #23
                  I'm starting to see a lot more people using drones for rollers. Especially for high speed shots. Some of the drones are getting fast!

                  Comment


                  • #24
                    Originally posted by 4th_rock View Post
                    I'm starting to see a lot more people using drones for rollers. Especially for high speed shots. Some of the drones are getting fast!
                    I'm just hoping the FAA doesn't put strict regulations in place for drone flights / pilots like the Canadian government did. Now you have to be licensed and go through rigorous training to fly legally.

                    Comment


                    • #25
                      DSLR is much better than Cinema Camera in quality & configurations
                      How to Purchase Instagram Likes to Make Your Post Famous?

                      Comment

                      Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
                      Auto-Saved
                      Santa :santa: Wink ;) Minigun :minigun: Facepalm :facepalm: Thumbs Up :thumbsup: Blue :blue: Shifty :shifty: Mad :mad: Newbie :newbie: Golf Clap :golfclap: Typing :typing: Bow and Arrow :bowandarrow: Sigh :sigh: Toothy Grin :() No No :nono: Gun Toting :guntoting: Wave :wave: Bump :bump: Crazy :crazy: Afro :afro: Oh Yeah :ohyeah: Hater :hater: Welcome Wave :welcomewave: Canada :canada: Smoking Pimp :smokingpimp: Australia :australia: Club :club: Huge :huge: Xmas :xmas: Chicken Catch :chickencatch: Soapbox :soapbox: Balloons :balloons: Popcorn :popcorn: Jason :jason: Coke Sniff :cokesniff: Strong :strong: Beavis and Butt-Head :bandb: Rock Out :rockout: Listening :listening: Dope :dope: Swords :swords: Axe Chase :axechase: Big Grin :D Merry Xmas :merryxmas: Explosion :explosion: Thread Jacked :threadjacked: Not Worthy :notworthy: Shhh :shhh: Neener :neener: Give Me Beer :givemebeer: Two Cents :twocents: Boring :boring: Shrug :shrug: Frown :( No Comment :nocomment: Shredding Guitar :shreddingguitar: Violin :violin: Bravo :bravo: Sleep :sleep: Beer Bong :beerbong: Oh the Drama :ohthedrama: Happy New Year :happynewyear: W2LW :welcometolastweek: Call Me :callme: Smoking Joint :smokingjoint: Argument :argument: Pac-Man :pac-man: Help Sign :helpsign: WTF :wtf: Censored :censored: Sniper2 :sniper2: Ball and Chain :ballandchain: Police :police: I'm With Stupid :imwithstupid: Take Cover :takecover: Cock Blocked :cockblocked: Sport Bike :sportbike: Beamup :beamup: Robot :robot: Liar :liar: Bomb 3 :bomb3: Surprised :surprised: Double Bird :doublebird: Salute :salute: Drool :drool: Think :think: Blah :blah: Seeing Stars :seeingstars: Naughty :naughty: Freedom :freedom: True Story :truestory: Bomb :bomb: Shower :shower: Confused :confused: NOS :nos: Google :google: Uzi :uzi: Boxing :boxing: Slap :slap: +1 :+1: NX :nx: Hammer :hammer: Wedgie :wedgie: Butt Moon :buttmoon: Flower :flower: Ambulance :ambulance: Owned :owned: Help :help: Wrong Forum :wrongforum: Car :car: Sniper :sniper: Backfire :backfire: Poke :poke: I'm Sorry :imsorry: Zzz :zzz: Clap :clap: Sparta :sparta: Bang Head :banghead: Razz :razz: Lay Rubber :layrubber: Cussing Argument :cussingargument: Superman :superman: Biker :biker: ROFL2 :rofl2: Embarrassment :o Mario :mario: Birthday :birthday: Dispute :dispute: Stick Out Tongue :p Mow Lawn :mowlawn: Fart :fart: Toilet Claw :toiletclaw: Blue Ninja :blueninja: Shock :shock: New Year :newyear: Good Post :goodpost: USA :usa: Boxing 2 :boxing2: Sign Here :signhere: BS :bs: Nut Kick :nutkick: Word :word: Waving :waving: Buried :buried: Cheers :cheers: A La Broche :alabroche: Old School :oldschool: Heart Eyes :hearteyes: Whip :whip: Candle :candle: Smoking Weed :smokingweed: Baby :baby: Double Pistol :doublepistol: I'm New Here :imnewhere: Yeah That :yeahthat: Chop Wood :chopwood: Spam Guy :spamguy: Ban :ban: Rain :rain: Juggle :juggle: Cool Photos :coolphotos: Studying :studying: Beef :beef: ROFL :rofl: Smile :) LOL :lol: Error :error: Thank You :thankyou: Roll Eyes (Sarcastic) :rolleyes: Cool :cool: EEK! :eek:
                      x
                      Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  
                      x
                      Working...
                      X