Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Favorite light painting techniques?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Favorite light painting techniques?

    Just wondering if you have tried light painting and what techniques you prefer. Are you guys moving a strobe around the car frame by frame and overlaying, or are you using a hand-held light source and walking around the car during a long exposure? I haven't tried the former, but have gotten decent results with the latter.

  • #2
    I have used both a flashlight and strobe for light painting. The strobe seems to give better results but takes longer to do plus there is the additional time editing. But it's worth it because you get more even lighting.
    Live to shoot, shoot to kill.

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by Kaito Tanaka View Post
      I have used both a flashlight and strobe for light painting. The strobe seems to give better results but takes longer to do plus there is the additional time editing. But it's worth it because you get more even lighting.
      Im looking to try this. What kind of flashlight did you use? What type works best?

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by BensonCarlisle View Post

        Im looking to try this. What kind of flashlight did you use? What type works best?
        It was just a decent LED flashlight. Any relatively bright one should do. However, I think an LED wand would work better since it disperses the light more than a flashlight. If you really want to get serious, you can even get something like this:

        Buy Westcott Ice Light 2 LED Light featuring 50% Brighter than Original Ice Light, 21.6 x 7.5", CRI: 96 72.6° Beam Spread, Weighs 1.25 lb. Review Westcott
        Live to shoot, shoot to kill.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Kaito Tanaka View Post

          It was just a decent LED flashlight. Any relatively bright one should do. However, I think an LED wand would work better since it disperses the light more than a flashlight. If you really want to get serious, you can even get something like this:
          Damn, that thing isn’t cheap! Definitely not using that thing for oil changes in the garage LOL.

          Comment


          • #6
            Use a strobe on a stand, snap, move, snap, move, snap, etc... Put it all together in post.

            Comment


            • #7
              Fire rope light painting is where its at!

              Comment


              • #8
                I have used Kinetic Light Painting Photography

                Comment


                • #9
                  I have used Kinetic Light Painting Photography
                  How to Purchase Instagram Likes to Make Your Post Famous?

                  Comment

                  Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
                  Auto-Saved
                  Toothy Grin :() No No :nono: Gun Toting :guntoting: Wave :wave: Bump :bump: Crazy :crazy: Afro :afro: Oh Yeah :ohyeah: Hater :hater: Welcome Wave :welcomewave: Canada :canada: Smoking Pimp :smokingpimp: Australia :australia: Club :club: Huge :huge: Xmas :xmas: Chicken Catch :chickencatch: Soapbox :soapbox: Balloons :balloons: Popcorn :popcorn: Jason :jason: Coke Sniff :cokesniff: Strong :strong: Beavis and Butt-Head :bandb: Rock Out :rockout: Listening :listening: Dope :dope: Swords :swords: Axe Chase :axechase: Santa :santa: Wink ;) Minigun :minigun: Facepalm :facepalm: Thumbs Up :thumbsup: Blue :blue: Shifty :shifty: Mad :mad: Newbie :newbie: Golf Clap :golfclap: Typing :typing: Bow and Arrow :bowandarrow: Sigh :sigh: Shredding Guitar :shreddingguitar: Violin :violin: Bravo :bravo: Sleep :sleep: Beer Bong :beerbong: Oh the Drama :ohthedrama: Happy New Year :happynewyear: W2LW :welcometolastweek: Call Me :callme: Smoking Joint :smokingjoint: Argument :argument: Pac-Man :pac-man: Help Sign :helpsign: WTF :wtf: Censored :censored: Sniper2 :sniper2: Ball and Chain :ballandchain: Police :police: I'm With Stupid :imwithstupid: Take Cover :takecover: Cock Blocked :cockblocked: Sport Bike :sportbike: Beamup :beamup: Robot :robot: Liar :liar: Bomb 3 :bomb3: Surprised :surprised: Double Bird :doublebird: Salute :salute: Big Grin :D Merry Xmas :merryxmas: Explosion :explosion: Thread Jacked :threadjacked: Not Worthy :notworthy: Shhh :shhh: Neener :neener: Give Me Beer :givemebeer: Two Cents :twocents: Boring :boring: Shrug :shrug: Frown :( No Comment :nocomment: Uzi :uzi: Boxing :boxing: Slap :slap: +1 :+1: NX :nx: Hammer :hammer: Wedgie :wedgie: Butt Moon :buttmoon: Flower :flower: Ambulance :ambulance: Owned :owned: Help :help: Wrong Forum :wrongforum: Car :car: Sniper :sniper: Backfire :backfire: Poke :poke: I'm Sorry :imsorry: Zzz :zzz: Clap :clap: Sparta :sparta: Bang Head :banghead: Razz :razz: Lay Rubber :layrubber: Cussing Argument :cussingargument: Superman :superman: Biker :biker: ROFL2 :rofl2: Embarrassment :o Mario :mario: Drool :drool: Think :think: Blah :blah: Seeing Stars :seeingstars: Naughty :naughty: Freedom :freedom: True Story :truestory: Bomb :bomb: Shower :shower: Confused :confused: NOS :nos: Google :google: Boxing 2 :boxing2: Sign Here :signhere: BS :bs: Nut Kick :nutkick: Word :word: Waving :waving: Buried :buried: Cheers :cheers: A La Broche :alabroche: Old School :oldschool: Heart Eyes :hearteyes: Whip :whip: Candle :candle: Smoking Weed :smokingweed: Baby :baby: Double Pistol :doublepistol: I'm New Here :imnewhere: Yeah That :yeahthat: Chop Wood :chopwood: Spam Guy :spamguy: Ban :ban: Rain :rain: Juggle :juggle: Cool Photos :coolphotos: Studying :studying: Beef :beef: ROFL :rofl: Smile :) LOL :lol: Error :error: Thank You :thankyou: Birthday :birthday: Dispute :dispute: Stick Out Tongue :p Mow Lawn :mowlawn: Fart :fart: Toilet Claw :toiletclaw: Blue Ninja :blueninja: Shock :shock: New Year :newyear: Good Post :goodpost: USA :usa: Roll Eyes (Sarcastic) :rolleyes: Cool :cool: EEK! :eek:
                  x
                  Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  
                  x
                  Working...
                  X