Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Fisheye lens for automotive photo / cinema

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Fisheye lens for automotive photo / cinema

    Are any of you still using a fisheye lens? I feel like fisheye is pretty unflattering for closeup automotive images. However, if you can center the car in the frame for the least amount of distortion, it may look decent if you have a great background. Fisheye may be a "less is more" strategy as far as some are concerned LOL.

  • #2
    I used to love the fisheye look in skate videos. Actually I think that's still a thing. I definitely think it could be cool in automotive photography if properly executed. I agree that it can easily be overdone though.

    Comment


    • #3
      Not always the best for automotive, but like everything else, it comes down to your level of creativity.

      Comment


      • #4
        I've gotten some pretty cool interior shots using fisheye! You would be amazed at how much of the interior you can get in one frame using the fisheye.
        Live to shoot, shoot to kill.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Kaito Tanaka View Post
          I've gotten some pretty cool interior shots using fisheye! You would be amazed at how much of the interior you can get in one frame using the fisheye.
          My fisheye was my favorite lens for a little while. They are great for getting really wide angles in tight places.

          Comment


          • #6
            Fisheye rollers FTW! Also great if you have an interesting sky since it almost wraps it around the car.

            Comment


            • #7
              A little gimmicky.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by Kristov3679 View Post
                A little gimmicky.
                Only if you go overboard with it. Use it sparingly and only when it adds to the photo. Don't expect it to make a lame photo cool though.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by Grimm View Post

                  Only if you go overboard with it. Use it sparingly and only when it adds to the photo. Don't expect it to make a lame photo cool though.
                  But it will make a cool photo lame if you're not careful...

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    I would love to have a fisheye lens, but good ones arent cheap!

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by cameo View Post
                      I would love to have a fisheye lens, but good ones arent cheap!
                      Ebay. I don’t buy any lenses new.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Same here. Well maintained lenses will last years.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Fisheye has been played out.

                          Comment

                          Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
                          Auto-Saved
                          Canada :canada: +1 :+1: Thumbs Up :thumbsup: ROFL2 :rofl2: Jason :jason: Car :car: Afro :afro: True Story :truestory: Santa :santa: Lay Rubber :layrubber: Chicken Catch :chickencatch: Ambulance :ambulance: Typing :typing: Seeing Stars :seeingstars: Listening :listening: Clap :clap: Australia :australia: Uzi :uzi: Shifty :shifty: Mario :mario: Coke Sniff :cokesniff: Backfire :backfire: Wave :wave: Shower :shower: Minigun :minigun: Cussing Argument :cussingargument: Balloons :balloons: Wedgie :wedgie: Sigh :sigh: Naughty :naughty: Dope :dope: Bang Head :banghead: Welcome Wave :welcomewave: Slap :slap: Newbie :newbie: Drool :drool: Beavis and Butt-Head :bandb: Wrong Forum :wrongforum: Crazy :crazy: NOS :nos: Facepalm :facepalm: Biker :biker: Xmas :xmas: Flower :flower: No No :nono: Freedom :freedom: Axe Chase :axechase: Zzz :zzz: Smoking Pimp :smokingpimp: NX :nx: Golf Clap :golfclap: Blah :blah: Sniper :sniper: Oh Yeah :ohyeah: Google :google: Blue :blue: Embarrassment :o Soapbox :soapbox: Owned :owned: Gun Toting :guntoting: Bomb :bomb: Wink ;) Sparta :sparta: Club :club: Hammer :hammer: Bow and Arrow :bowandarrow: Strong :strong: Poke :poke: Hater :hater: Boxing :boxing: Mad :mad: Superman :superman: Popcorn :popcorn: Help :help: Bump :bump: Confused :confused: Swords :swords: Razz :razz: Huge :huge: Butt Moon :buttmoon: Toothy Grin :() Think :think: Rock Out :rockout: I'm Sorry :imsorry: Thread Jacked :threadjacked: ROFL :rofl: I'm With Stupid :imwithstupid: Candle :candle: Beer Bong :beerbong: Toilet Claw :toiletclaw: Salute :salute: Juggle :juggle: Censored :censored: A La Broche :alabroche: Two Cents :twocents: Dispute :dispute: Liar :liar: Chop Wood :chopwood: Argument :argument: USA :usa: Shhh :shhh: LOL :lol: Cock Blocked :cockblocked: Baby :baby: Violin :violin: Shock :shock: Merry Xmas :merryxmas: Cool Photos :coolphotos: Ball and Chain :ballandchain: Waving :waving: Shrug :shrug: Mow Lawn :mowlawn: Bomb 3 :bomb3: Ban :ban: W2LW :welcometolastweek: Sign Here :signhere: Neener :neener: Error :error: Beamup :beamup: Whip :whip: Sleep :sleep: New Year :newyear: Explosion :explosion: Beef :beef: WTF :wtf: Cheers :cheers: No Comment :nocomment: Fart :fart: Double Bird :doublebird: Yeah That :yeahthat: Smoking Joint :smokingjoint: Nut Kick :nutkick: Give Me Beer :givemebeer: Birthday :birthday: Take Cover :takecover: Smoking Weed :smokingweed: Oh the Drama :ohthedrama: Good Post :goodpost: Not Worthy :notworthy: Smile :) Sniper2 :sniper2: Old School :oldschool: Shredding Guitar :shreddingguitar: Blue Ninja :blueninja: Big Grin :D Spam Guy :spamguy: Pac-Man :pac-man: Word :word: Boring :boring: Stick Out Tongue :p Sport Bike :sportbike: Double Pistol :doublepistol: Happy New Year :happynewyear: Boxing 2 :boxing2: Studying :studying: Police :police: Heart Eyes :hearteyes: Bravo :bravo: Surprised :surprised: Rain :rain: Help Sign :helpsign: Buried :buried: Frown :( Thank You :thankyou: Robot :robot: I'm New Here :imnewhere: Call Me :callme: BS :bs: Roll Eyes (Sarcastic) :rolleyes: Cool :cool: EEK! :eek:
                          x
                          Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  
                          x
                          Working...
                          X