Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Who's jumping ship for mirrorless?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Who's jumping ship for mirrorless?

    With full-frame mirrorless options now available from Nikon and Canon, as well as the recent upgrades to Sony's Alpha, how many of you plan on replacing your DSLR with one of these options? I like the idea of a more compact system that can still achieve professional level image quality (as long as it doesn't feel like a toy). I haven't had the opportunity to shoot with one yet, though.

  • #2
    I will probably pick up the z6. I almost bought an a7iii earlier this year but nobody had them in stock. I'm glad I decided to hold off though because I already have a couple nikon lenses.

    Comment


    • #3
      I would love to have the 4K video! Maybe someday...

      Comment


      • #4
        The EOS R is looking pretty good. Very competitive price point too. For right around $2k, you have your choice of the Sony a7III, Nikon Z6, or Canon EOS R... good time to be in the market if you’re looking for a new camera.
        You have 20 seconds to comply.

        Comment


        • #5
          I’ll be hanging onto my DSLR for a while. I think I am going to wait for Nikon to fine tune them a little more before investing.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by ED-209 View Post
            The EOS R is looking pretty good. Very competitive price point too. For right around $2k, you have your choice of the Sony a7III, Nikon Z6, or Canon EOS R... good time to be in the market if you’re looking for a new camera.
            Yeah considering the price of a comparable DSLR they are all very well priced. You are getting a full frame camera loaded with features for the price of a good crop sensor camera.

            Comment


            • #7
              I think the DSLR’s will still be around for several more years. I think a lot of photographers will be reluctant to make the change. I also think a lot of people prefer the bulk and feel of a big DSLR. It would take some getting used to for me.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by techscabby View Post
                I think the DSLR’s will still be around for several more years. I think a lot of photographers will be reluctant to make the change. I also think a lot of people prefer the bulk and feel of a big DSLR. It would take some getting used to for me.
                I wouldn’t mind a smaller camera body, assuming it doesn’t feel cheap and plasticy (some of the entry level DSLR’s have this feel). A little weight can help stabilization.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Nikon released the Z6 and Z7, but Canon only released one camera, which is priced competitively with the Z6. I’m wondering if they plan on releasing a higher end model priced to compete with the Z7 in the near future.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by bill.i.am View Post
                    Nikon released the Z6 and Z7, but Canon only released one camera, which is priced competitively with the Z6. I’m wondering if they plan on releasing a higher end model priced to compete with the Z7 in the near future.
                    It kind of seems like Nikon is fully committed to offering a whole line of professional level mirrorless cameras, but maybe for Canon the EOS R is a way to keep customers from moving over to the Sony camp.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by shutter_stud View Post

                      It kind of seems like Nikon is fully committed to offering a whole line of professional level mirrorless cameras, but maybe for Canon the EOS R is a way to keep customers from moving over to the Sony camp.
                      I think Canon is just as committed as Nikon (developing a new camera body is expensive, but developing an entire new line of lenses with a redesigned mount is extremely expensive). My guess is they released the EOS R now to keep people from going elsewhere, but they are likely still working on a high-end version(s) to be released in the future.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        I'm still waiting to get my hands on a Z6 or Z7 to try out, but I think I would take one of these over a D850 (which is supposed to be amazing). We'll see...

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          I will definitely be getting the Z7 once I get my tax return back next year! I just hope Nikon rolls out some more lenses soon.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            I am really liking that EOSR. I don’t shoot as often as I should, but that camera is definitely on my wish list.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Originally posted by NikkorWhore View Post
                              I will definitely be getting the Z7 once I get my tax return back next year! I just hope Nikon rolls out some more lenses soon.
                              Yeah, I'm kind of surprised they didn't release more than 3 lenses right off the bat since they are targeting professionals with the Z7. I guess that's why they released the F-mount adapter right away.

                              Comment

                              Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
                              Auto-Saved
                              Lay Rubber :layrubber: Chicken Catch :chickencatch: Ambulance :ambulance: Typing :typing: Seeing Stars :seeingstars: Listening :listening: Clap :clap: Australia :australia: Uzi :uzi: Shifty :shifty: Mario :mario: Coke Sniff :cokesniff: Backfire :backfire: Wave :wave: Shower :shower: Minigun :minigun: Cussing Argument :cussingargument: Balloons :balloons: Wedgie :wedgie: Sigh :sigh: Naughty :naughty: Dope :dope: Bang Head :banghead: Welcome Wave :welcomewave: Slap :slap: Newbie :newbie: Drool :drool: Beavis and Butt-Head :bandb: Wrong Forum :wrongforum: Crazy :crazy: NOS :nos: Facepalm :facepalm: Biker :biker: Xmas :xmas: Flower :flower: No No :nono: Freedom :freedom: Axe Chase :axechase: Zzz :zzz: Smoking Pimp :smokingpimp: NX :nx: Golf Clap :golfclap: Blah :blah: Sniper :sniper: Oh Yeah :ohyeah: Google :google: Blue :blue: Embarrassment :o Soapbox :soapbox: Owned :owned: Gun Toting :guntoting: Bomb :bomb: Wink ;) Sparta :sparta: Club :club: Hammer :hammer: Bow and Arrow :bowandarrow: Strong :strong: Poke :poke: Hater :hater: Boxing :boxing: Mad :mad: Superman :superman: Popcorn :popcorn: Help :help: Bump :bump: Confused :confused: Swords :swords: Razz :razz: Huge :huge: Butt Moon :buttmoon: Toothy Grin :() Think :think: Rock Out :rockout: I'm Sorry :imsorry: Canada :canada: +1 :+1: Thumbs Up :thumbsup: ROFL2 :rofl2: Jason :jason: Car :car: Afro :afro: True Story :truestory: Santa :santa: Two Cents :twocents: Dispute :dispute: Liar :liar: Chop Wood :chopwood: Argument :argument: USA :usa: Shhh :shhh: LOL :lol: Cock Blocked :cockblocked: Baby :baby: Violin :violin: Shock :shock: Merry Xmas :merryxmas: Cool Photos :coolphotos: Ball and Chain :ballandchain: Waving :waving: Shrug :shrug: Mow Lawn :mowlawn: Bomb 3 :bomb3: Ban :ban: W2LW :welcometolastweek: Sign Here :signhere: Neener :neener: Error :error: Beamup :beamup: Whip :whip: Sleep :sleep: New Year :newyear: Explosion :explosion: Beef :beef: WTF :wtf: Cheers :cheers: No Comment :nocomment: Fart :fart: Double Bird :doublebird: Yeah That :yeahthat: Smoking Joint :smokingjoint: Nut Kick :nutkick: Give Me Beer :givemebeer: Birthday :birthday: Take Cover :takecover: Smoking Weed :smokingweed: Oh the Drama :ohthedrama: Good Post :goodpost: Not Worthy :notworthy: Smile :) Sniper2 :sniper2: Old School :oldschool: Shredding Guitar :shreddingguitar: Blue Ninja :blueninja: Big Grin :D Spam Guy :spamguy: Pac-Man :pac-man: Word :word: Boring :boring: Stick Out Tongue :p Sport Bike :sportbike: Double Pistol :doublepistol: Happy New Year :happynewyear: Boxing 2 :boxing2: Studying :studying: Police :police: Heart Eyes :hearteyes: Bravo :bravo: Surprised :surprised: Rain :rain: Help Sign :helpsign: Buried :buried: Frown :( Thank You :thankyou: Robot :robot: I'm New Here :imnewhere: Call Me :callme: BS :bs: Thread Jacked :threadjacked: ROFL :rofl: I'm With Stupid :imwithstupid: Candle :candle: Beer Bong :beerbong: Toilet Claw :toiletclaw: Salute :salute: Juggle :juggle: Censored :censored: A La Broche :alabroche: Roll Eyes (Sarcastic) :rolleyes: Cool :cool: EEK! :eek:
                              x
                              Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  
                              x
                              Working...
                              X