Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Favorite time of day to shoot automotive?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Favorite time of day to shoot automotive?

    What time of day do you guys prefer to shoot? I see a lot of people shooting really early (around sunrise). Is this providing better results than shooting around sunset? I think I'm partial to night shots, personally. You have to get pretty creative with your lighting, though.

  • #2
    Golden hour late in the day. I don’t usually get up early enough to shoot around sunrise.

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by Eleventeen View Post
      What time of day do you guys prefer to shoot? I see a lot of people shooting really early (around sunrise). Is this providing better results than shooting around sunset? I think I'm partial to night shots, personally. You have to get pretty creative with your lighting, though.
      Night shots are great. I kind of like the irony of night shooting. A camera's sole purpose is to capture light, we're trying to take photos during the darkest hours possible haha.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by Kristov3679 View Post

        Night shots are great. I kind of like the irony of night shooting. A camera's sole purpose is to capture light, we're trying to take photos during the darkest hours possible haha.
        It does SEEM a bit counterintuitive, but our eyes can only see light that exists in that moment. However, a camera can capture light over an extended period of time and store it all in one image.

        Comment


        • #5
          Pretty much any time except mid-day.

          Comment


          • #6
            Shoot early, get breakfast, go home and edit.

            Comment


            • #7
              Sunset for me. But if it’s overcast I’ll shoot whenever.

              Comment


              • #8
                A little after sunset just before dark. It’s a very small window to achieve.

                Comment


                • #9
                  I like waking up early so shooting in the morning works best for me. In the summer when the sun rises early you can get some great shots without worrying about other people around.
                  Live to shoot, shoot to kill.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Really early or really late if shooting outdoors. Obviously, indoors it doesn’t really matter.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Not picky as long as it’s not too bright. I’ve made it work before, though.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Sunset or later. Not up early enough to shoot near sunrise. Work pretty much kills any daytime opportunities for me (even if the lighting is suitable).

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by Cool Hwhip View Post
                          Sunset or later. Not up early enough to shoot near sunrise. Work pretty much kills any daytime opportunities for me (even if the lighting is suitable).
                          Just imagine all of the time we'd have if we didn't have to work! I feel like I would get so much done in my life.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by Nfocus View Post

                            Just imagine all of the time we'd have if we didn't have to work! I feel like I would get so much done in my life.
                            Yeah, except most of us wouldn't have enough money to actually get out and do anything LOL.

                            Comment

                            Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
                            Auto-Saved
                            Two Cents :twocents: Dispute :dispute: Liar :liar: Chop Wood :chopwood: Argument :argument: USA :usa: Shhh :shhh: LOL :lol: Cock Blocked :cockblocked: Baby :baby: Violin :violin: Shock :shock: Merry Xmas :merryxmas: Cool Photos :coolphotos: Ball and Chain :ballandchain: Waving :waving: Shrug :shrug: Mow Lawn :mowlawn: Bomb 3 :bomb3: Ban :ban: W2LW :welcometolastweek: Sign Here :signhere: Neener :neener: Error :error: Beamup :beamup: Whip :whip: Sleep :sleep: New Year :newyear: Explosion :explosion: Beef :beef: WTF :wtf: Cheers :cheers: No Comment :nocomment: Fart :fart: Double Bird :doublebird: Yeah That :yeahthat: Smoking Joint :smokingjoint: Nut Kick :nutkick: Give Me Beer :givemebeer: Birthday :birthday: Take Cover :takecover: Smoking Weed :smokingweed: Oh the Drama :ohthedrama: Good Post :goodpost: Not Worthy :notworthy: Smile :) Sniper2 :sniper2: Old School :oldschool: Shredding Guitar :shreddingguitar: Blue Ninja :blueninja: Big Grin :D Spam Guy :spamguy: Pac-Man :pac-man: Word :word: Boring :boring: Stick Out Tongue :p Sport Bike :sportbike: Double Pistol :doublepistol: Happy New Year :happynewyear: Boxing 2 :boxing2: Studying :studying: Police :police: Heart Eyes :hearteyes: Bravo :bravo: Surprised :surprised: Rain :rain: Help Sign :helpsign: Buried :buried: Frown :( Thank You :thankyou: Robot :robot: I'm New Here :imnewhere: Call Me :callme: BS :bs: Thread Jacked :threadjacked: ROFL :rofl: I'm With Stupid :imwithstupid: Candle :candle: Beer Bong :beerbong: Toilet Claw :toiletclaw: Salute :salute: Juggle :juggle: Censored :censored: A La Broche :alabroche: Santa :santa: Lay Rubber :layrubber: Chicken Catch :chickencatch: Ambulance :ambulance: Typing :typing: Seeing Stars :seeingstars: Listening :listening: Clap :clap: Australia :australia: Uzi :uzi: Shifty :shifty: Mario :mario: Coke Sniff :cokesniff: Backfire :backfire: Wave :wave: Shower :shower: Minigun :minigun: Cussing Argument :cussingargument: Balloons :balloons: Wedgie :wedgie: Sigh :sigh: Naughty :naughty: Dope :dope: Bang Head :banghead: Welcome Wave :welcomewave: Slap :slap: Newbie :newbie: Drool :drool: Beavis and Butt-Head :bandb: Wrong Forum :wrongforum: Crazy :crazy: NOS :nos: Facepalm :facepalm: Biker :biker: Xmas :xmas: Flower :flower: No No :nono: Freedom :freedom: Axe Chase :axechase: Zzz :zzz: Smoking Pimp :smokingpimp: NX :nx: Golf Clap :golfclap: Blah :blah: Sniper :sniper: Oh Yeah :ohyeah: Google :google: Blue :blue: Embarrassment :o Soapbox :soapbox: Owned :owned: Gun Toting :guntoting: Bomb :bomb: Wink ;) Sparta :sparta: Club :club: Hammer :hammer: Bow and Arrow :bowandarrow: Strong :strong: Poke :poke: Hater :hater: Boxing :boxing: Mad :mad: Superman :superman: Popcorn :popcorn: Help :help: Bump :bump: Confused :confused: Swords :swords: Razz :razz: Huge :huge: Butt Moon :buttmoon: Toothy Grin :() Think :think: Rock Out :rockout: I'm Sorry :imsorry: Canada :canada: +1 :+1: Thumbs Up :thumbsup: ROFL2 :rofl2: Jason :jason: Car :car: Afro :afro: True Story :truestory: Roll Eyes (Sarcastic) :rolleyes: Cool :cool: EEK! :eek:
                            x
                            Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  
                            x
                            Working...
                            X